And now we move forward…

Posted: January 13, 2011 in Uncategorized

So the class is now over and I am ready to teach people what I have learned. I am ready to tell people that there is more to the history of Hip-Hop than the death of Tupac and Biggie. Whenever I came into this class I thought that I knew all there was to know about Hip-Hop. However, I was very wrong. I thought I knew all about the history and past of Hip-Hop. I thought I knew exactly how Hip-Hop evolved. But I was very wrong. There were so many new things that I learned about Hip-Hop and now that I know them I can legitimately call myself a Hip-Hop enthusiast.

One thing that I did not know that was very surprising to me were all of the things that Shane did not know. It was strange, I thought that everyone knew who Biggie was and everyone knew a thing or two about Hip-Hop, but he really didn’t know much at all. For me and most of the students, that was very interesting and it was almost as if Shane was from a different country sometimes, but we learned from what he didn’t know and we learned how to teach him what we did know.

I also learned a lot from the individual presentations. I never knew anything about Slick Rick and I never really cared to do any research on him because I did not know how influential he was. Had I known that he inspired Snoop Dogg and Biggie, then I definitely would have given him the time of day in the past. But, you learn something new everyday and I am not complaining. I also learned a lot about the Beastie Boys, a Hip-Hop group that I thought I knew a lot about. Boy was I wrong. Not to mention everything I learned about Salt-n-Peppa. I really just learned something new everyday in this class and can’t wait to flex my Hip-Hop muscle at all my fellow Hip-Hop enthusiast friends.

Comments
  1. Moshe Eckmeyer says:

    This is the best site for anyone who desires to find out about this subject. You notice so much its almost onerous to argue with you (not that I truly would want…HaHa). You undoubtedly put a brand new spin on a subject thats been wrote about for years. Nice stuff, simply nice!

Leave a Reply

