Individual Artist Presentations

Posted: January 12, 2011 in Uncategorized

This first day of presentations was really interesting. I learned a lot about many artists that I really did not know much about. My favorite presentations that I feel I learned the most about were Crys and Trey’s. Their presentations were over Talib Kweli and The Beastie Boys.

I’ll start by talking about The Beastie Boys first. I’ll admit that growing up I always heard about The Beastie Boys but I never really knew anything about them except for what might be their most popular song, “Fight For Your Right (To Party).” Besides that I did not know much. I knew they had a white member or maybe two, but I didn’t recall all three being white males. That, to me, was strange news that I did not expect. Although, it made me really happy to hear. I learned that they used a lot of humor in their music and that they seemed to be somewhat of an influence on modern day rappers like Eminem and Snoop Dogg, two of my favorite artists.

The second presentation I want to mention is Crys’s presentation on Talib Kweli. He is a very smart and awesome conscious rapper that I truly admired coming into this class. However, I did not know that he did not prefer to be labeled as a conscious rapper. I did not know that he wished to just be considered a rapper. Something else that was really interesting to learn about Talib Kweli was that his parents were both professors. This was pretty neat news considering up until this point in the class we had overwhelmingly come to the conclusion that you needed to be raised in rough environment or had to have been abandoned by a parent or two to be a successful and respectable Hip-Hop artist. This could not be further from the truth and we learned that after hearing a little bit about Talib Kweli.

Leave a Reply

